It’s not a dream deferred. It’s a dream in progress.

I’m not really a poetry person, but there are some poems that have stayed with me over the years and this is one of them. It’s also one of my favourites:   A Dream Deferred, by Langston Hughes

What happens to a dream deferred?

Does it dry up
like a raisin in the sun?
Or fester like a sore–
And then run?
Does it stink like rotten meat?
Or crust and sugar over–
like a syrupy sweet?

Maybe it just sags
like a heavy load.

Or does it explode?

What does this have to do with my discovery month? Everything. Poetry is a type of art that allows for subjective opinion. So this can mean one thing to me and another thing to you.What this meant to me 10 years ago is very different to what it means to me now.

As I prepared to graduate from university(approx. 10 yrs ago), this poem did its job. It lit a fire under me to make sure that I burst out of the post-secondary education scene with purpose and drive. I didn’t want to experience what this poem describes as a dream deferred. As a fresh graduate, I was full of dreams for the future. Little did I know that sometimes, in most cases, dreams are not immediately realized. It’s the daily experiences, the major decisions, and even some seemingly small decisions, that effect the fruition of my dreams. I’ve been learning ever since.

At this stage in my life, this poem represents hope. The passion that burns inside of me isn’t dying, it’s only burning brighter. The dreams birthed in my at a young age are still at the forefront of my mind. It’s not a dream deferred. It’s a dream in progress. I will live it and pursue it until the day I die. Notice I said “live it” first. I live my dream daily, because I see pieces of it everyday. It may not be the fullness of it yet, but I’m getting there.

Leave a Reply

